NORTH EAST NEWS BULLETIN DATED:- 05.06.2024

HEADLINES:-

- ➤ The counting of votes is underway for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections; NDA wins 230 seats, while I.N.D.I.A bloc bags 156 seats so far.
- ➤ In Arunachal Pradesh, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) retains both the Arunachal East and Arunachal West parliamentary seats.
- In Sikkim, Member of Parliament Indra Hang Subba of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha retains the seat.
- ➤ In Meghalaya, Congress candidate Saleng A. Sangma wins Tura seat and common candidate of UDP and HSPDP Dr. Ricky Andrew J. Singkon bags Shillong seat.
- Congress makes a comeback in Nagaland by winning the state lone Lok Sabha seat.
- ➤ In Mizoram, Richard Vanlalhmangaiha of Zoram People's Movement defeats K. Vanlalvena of Mizo National Front by over 68 thousand votes.

COUNTING:

The counting of votes for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections continued till late last night. Out of 543 seats NDA has won 230 seats and was leading on 61, while I.N.D.I.A bloc bagged 156 seats and was ahead in 77 seats. The BJP alone has won 184 seats and Congress secured 72 seats. Prominent candidates who have won include Prime Minister and BJP leader Narendra Modi from Varanasi, Union Ministers Amit Shah from Gandhinagar, Om Birla from Kota, Arjun Ram Meghwal from Bikaner, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat from Jodhpur, Jyotiraditya M. Scindia from Guna, Samajwadi Party leader Dimple Yadav from Mainpuri seat and Shatrughan Sinha of TMC from Asansol. Prominent Candidates who have lost include BJP leader and Union Minister Arjun Munda from Khunti, Smriti Irani from Amethi, National Conference leader Omar Abdullah from Baramullah and PDP leader Mehbooba Mufti from Anantnag seat.

RETAIN:

In Arunachal Pradesh, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has retained both the Arunachal East and Arunachal West parliamentary seats. Union Minister Kiren Rijiju and Tapir Gao have retained their respective seats.

Union Minister Keren Rijiju defeated Senior Congress Leader and former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki by a vote margin of 100738 votes. In Arunachal East parliamentary seat, sitting BJP MP Tapir Gao has beaten Senior Congress leader and former Minister of the state Bosiram Siram by 30421 votes.

VOTES:

In Sikkim Parliamentary Constituency, MP Indra Hang Subba of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) has retained the seat. Mr. Subba defeated his nearest rival Bharat Basnet of Citizen Action Party(CAP) by 80,830 votes. Mr. Subba secured 1,64,396 votes while Mr. Basnet got 83,566 votes. Prem Das Rai of Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) got 77,171 votes while Dinesh Chandra Nepal of BJP got 19,035 votes in this election. Altogether 14 candidates including sitting MP Indra Hang Subba of SKM, Bharat Basnet of CAP, Prem Das Rai of SDF, Dinesh Chandra Nepal of BJP, Gopal Chettri of Congress, Kharga Bhadur Rai of Sikkim Republican Party (SRP) and eight Independent candidates including one female candidate fought for the lone Lok Sabha seat. The counting of votes Sikkim recorded 79.90 percent voter turn-out this time, excluding postal ballots, as it went to polls on April 19 last, in Phase 1 of the Lok Sabha Elections. Out of the total registered 4,66,643 electors, 3,70,857 including 1,85,813 males and 1,85,042 females and 02 third gender voters exercised their franchise for the election of the Lok Sabha seat.

DEFEAT:

In Meghalaya, Congress candidate Saleng A Sangma has won Tura seat by over 1 lakh 55 thousand votes defeating Agatha Sangma of National People's party. The Voice of the People Party candidate Dr. Ricky Andrew J Singkon has bagged Shillong seat defeating Vincent H. Pala of Congress by over 3 lakh 71 thousand votes. Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) candidate Indra Hang Subba has won in lone Sikkim Lok Sabha seat.

COME BACK:

After 20 years, Congress made a comeback in Nagaland by winning the state lone Lok Sabha seat. INC candidate S Supongmeren Jamir defeated Dr. Chumben Murry of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) by a margin 50984 votes. Mr Jamir defeated Dr Murry by garnering a total votes of 401951. Dr Murry garnered 350967 votes. Independent candidate Hayithung Tungoe Lotha got 6233 votes. While, 1646 votes as NOTA. Speaking to media persons after his win, Mr Jamir said as promised in the party's manifesto, he will work with commitment for the People. Stating that win is a turning point for Congress party, he said he will go down to the grassroot people and deliver justice and confidence to them. Emphasizing that this victory clearly shows that the people wanted a change, Mr Jamir assured that the congress party will work towards the development and interest of the people.

WIN:

In Mizoram, Richard Vanlalhmangaiha of Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) defeated his nearest rival K. Vanlalvena of Mizo National Front by over 68 thousand votes.

NEC:

The North Eastern Council Secretariat, held a series of impactful events and activities during the Swachhata Pakhwada fortnight reflecting the commitment of the entire NEC community towards a cleaner and greener environment. The Swachhata Pakhwada, 2024 witnessed an array of competitions aimed at fostering awareness and participation in cleanliness initiatives.
