Morning News Script 0730 hrs 5th June 2024

||<><><|

The BJP led NDA has secured absolute majority in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections by winning 292 seats. Results of all 543 Lok Sabha seats have been declared. The BJP alone has won 240 seats. Telugu Desam has secured 16 seats and JD(U) 12. The I.N.D.I.A bloc has bagged 233 seats. Others have won 18 seats in the lower house of Parliament. The Congress secured 99 seats. Prominent candidates who have won include Prime Minister and BJP leader Narendra Modi from Varanasi, Union Ministers Amit Shah from Gandhinagar, and Congress leader Rahul Gandhi from Wayanad and Raebareli. Prominent Candidates who have lost include BJP leader and Union Minister Arjun Munda from Khunti, Smriti Irani from Amethi, National Conference leader Omar Abdullah from Baramullah and PDP leader Mehbooba Mufti from Anantnag seat.

||<><><|

Prime Minister and senior BJP leader Narendra Modi said it is certain that the NDA will form the government at Centre for the third consecutive term. Addressing party workers at BJP Head Quarter yesterday Modi said people have shown full faith in the BJP and NDA in this polls. Party President J P Nadda said that after the formation of the NDA, it is for the first time in the history of Indian politics that an alliance would form a government for the third time in a row.

||<><><|

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio has congratulated BJP president JP Nadda and Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the success of the BJP-led NDA in the Lok Sabha elections for a third consecutive term. Rio expressed confidence that the NDA will form a strong and stable Government and continue to lead India in a new era of progress.

||<><><|

Indian National Congress makes a comeback in Nagaland after its candidate S Supongmeren Jamir created history in winning the State's Lone Sabha seat. Jamir defeated his close rival NDPP- PDA consensus candidate Dr Chumben Murry by a margin of 50,984 votes. With no single MLA in the State Assembly since 2014, this is a major win for the Congress in the State. K Asungba Sangtam was the last who won the Lok Sabha election in 1999. Addressing a press conference last evening,Returning officer (RO), Sushil Kumar informed that out of 7,59,150 total valid votes cast, Jamir polled 401951 votes, Dr Murry garnered 350967 votes and Independent Hayithung Tungoe Lotha got 6233 votes. While, 1646 votes were None of the Above(NOTA). He said, the valid

votes were casted from the 40 Assembly Constituencies, out of the 60 state Assembly Constituencies. The RO said out of the 6035 postal ballot, valid postal ballot counted were 3642 and 2393 were rejected. Jamir got 2449 votes through postal ballot, Dr Murry got 895 votes, Hayithung 182 and 126 NOTA.

||<><><|

Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge has termed the result of Lok Sabha polls as the victory of the people and democracy. Breifing media in New Delhi yesterday Kharge said, no party has been given majority in this polls. He said, they accept the mandate of people. He added that Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra connected lakhs of people with the Congress. Senior party leader Rahul Gandhi said, this election was not only against one political party but against the Agencies. He said, these are the institutions that are captured by BJP. Mr Gandhi said, this election was for saving the constitution.

||<><><||

The Indian National Congress (INC) has secured decisive victories in both the Inner and Outer Manipur parliamentary constituencies. INC candidate Angomcha Bimol Akoijam won the Inner Manipur seat by a record margin of over 1 lakh votes, breaking previous electoral records. Alfred K Arthur, a former MLA from Ukhrul district, won the Outer Manipur constituency. Arthur defeated Kachui Timothy Zimik of the Naga People's Front (NPF), who received 297,631 vote.

||<><><|

World Environment Day is being celebrated today. It is a global event led by the United Nations to encourage awareness and action to protect the environment. The day aims to raise awareness about environmental issues and inspire people and governments to take action to protect the planet. The theme for this year is "Land Restoration, Desertification, and Drought Resilience." It is about bringing back healthy land, preventing deserts from growing, and dealing with water shortages. According to the UN Convention to Combat Desertification, up to 40 per cent of the planet's land is degraded, directly affecting half of the world's population. The number and duration of droughts has increased by 29 per cent since 2000 - without urgent action, droughts may affect over three-quarters of the world's population by 2050.

The National Testing Agency has declared the result of the National Eligibility Cum Entrance Examination (NEET-UG). The students who appeared the exam can check their results at exams.nta.ac.in/NEET. The examination for undergraduate medical programmes was conducted on 5th of May last month.