0730 hrs of

30th June 2024.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will share his thoughts with the people of the country and abroad in the 'Mann Ki Baat' programme on Akashvani at 11 AM today. It will be the 111th episode of the monthly radio programme. It will also be the first episode after Modi assumed charge of the Prime Minister for the third consecutive time. The programme will be broadcast on the entire network of Akashvani and Doordarshan, AIR News website and newsonair mobile app. It will also be live streamed on the YouTube channels of the AIR News, DD News, PMO and Information and Broadcasting Ministry. Akashvani will broadcast the programme in regional languages immediately after the Hindi broadcast.

The ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party, NDPP, has made a resounding victory in Nagaland's Urban Local Bodies Elections by sweeping 153 seats. BJP won 25 seats, NPF 13, NCP-12, INC-7, 5 each for JDU and NPP, 2 LJP and 56 Independent. The State Election Commission, SEC, said, a total of 1 Lakh 84 Thousand 126 electors, constituting 81.66 per cent, cast their votes for electing candidates in 214 Wards across 24 Municipalities that went to the Poll on June 26. Out of 278 seats contested, 176 were male candidates and 102 female candidates. Earlier, 64 candidates got elected unopposed. The SEC said, with the election being held successfully with onethird women reservation, this election saw a substantial number of women entering the fray. As a first, out of a total of 198 women candidates that participated in the election, a record number of 102 women candidates, including in 8 unreserved Wards, emerged victorious, marking a significant milestone in the history of elections in the State. Interestingly, the youngest winning candidate and the oldest winning candidate are both females. Nzanrhoni I. Mozhui, 22, of BJP from Ward 1 under Bhandari Town Council was the youngest winner. Sibeule, 71, of NDPP from Ward 6 under Peren Town Council was the oldest female winner. winner. In terms of vote margin, Yimkumba of NDPP won from Ward 12 under Dimapur Municipal Council with the biggest margin of 3344 votes over the nearest rival candidate. While the candidates with the narrowest winning margin went to three NDPP

Candidates, Temjennungsang from Ward 8 under Changtongya Town Council, Kadielhi Mero from Ward 6 of Pfutsero Town Council, and Lathaingam Ruangmei from Ward 9 under Jalukie Town Council respectively. All the three contesting candidates won their respective seats by a critical margin of a mere one vote.

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio has extended congratulation to the winning candidates in the ULB elections. Taking to X, Rio said he extend his best wishes as they take on the responsibilities to address civic issues. The Chief Minister expressed confidence that their dedication will lead to positive changes, and fulfilment of the public's expectations in their respective wards.

India ended their 11-year wait for a global trophy when Rohit Sharma led Team India clinched the ICC Men's T20 cricket World Cup 2024 defeating South Africa by seven runs in a classic final at Kensington Oval last night. Opting to bat first, Virat Kohli's 76 and Axar Patel's 47 led India to a strong 176 for 7 in 20 overs, the highest score by any team in the final of a men's T20 World Cup. Chasing the target of 177 runs, South Africa could only score 169 runs losing eight wicket with the help of Heinrich Klaasen's 52 runs. Virat Kohli was daclared the Player of the Match award for his fabulous innings. This is India's second T20 World Cup victory after they had won it in 2007 and first since winning the Champions Trophy in 2013. Two of India's greatest ever cricketer - Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma - announced their retirement from T 20 International after the side's second T20 World Cup win. While Kohli announced his retirement minutes after the triumph, India captain Rohit Sharma announced it in the official post match press conference. President, Vice President and Prime Minister have congratulated the Indian team for winning the T20 World Cup 2024.