## **REGIONAL NEWS UNIT, ITANAGAR**

TIME: 7:50 PM DURATION: 5 MINTS DATE: 04/06/2024

Counting of votes for 543 Lok Sabha Seats are being held across the country. The counting which stated in morning today is going on still in many constituencies. Results have also been declared for most of the seats. According to the latest update, BJP has won 109 seats and is leading in 130 seats, Indian National Congress has won 43 seats and is leading in 56 seats. In Uttar Predesh Samajwadi Party has won 11 seats and are leading in 27 seats, BJP has won 12 seats including Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Varanasi seat and is leading in 20 seats. Indian National Congress has won 3 seats including Rahul Gandhi's Raibareli seat and is leading in 3 seats. In Bihar JD(U) has won 1 seats and is leading in 11 seats. On the other hand BJP has won 4 seats and is leading in 8 seats. In Andra Pradesh Chandra Babu Naidu's TDP party has won 1 seats and is leading in 15 seats and has got the maximum seats in the state. In Karnataka BJP has won 17 and leading in 9 seats. BJP is on the way to clean-sweep for the 7 seats of Delhi, 4 seats of Himachal Pradesh and 19 seats of Madhya Pradesh. In West Bengal, All India Trinamool Congress has won 4 seats and is leading in 25 seats, BJP is leading in 12 and Indian National Congress in 1 seat.

In Arunachal Pradesh, BJP has retained both the Arunachal East and Arunachal West parliamentary seats. Union Minister Kiren Rijiju and Tapir Gao have retained their respective seats. Union Minister Keren Rijiju defeated Senior Congress Leader and former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki by a vote margin of 100738 votes. Rijiju has defeated Tuki in two consecutive elections now. Rijiju got 20,5417 votes and Tuki 104679 votes. In Arunachal East parliamentary seat, sitting BJP MP Tapir Gao has beaten Senior Congress leader and former Minister of the state Bosiram Siram by 30421 votes. Tapir Gao got 145581 votes and Bosiram Siram got 1,15,160 votes. In the Arunachal Pradesh legislative elections, the counting of which was held on June 2, BJP has won 46 seats in the 60-member house and has retained power in the state.

In Assam, BJP is leading in 9 seats in the fight for the 14 Lok Sabha Seats. Indian National Congress is leading in 3 seats, Asom Gana Parishad is leading in one and UPPL in one. Indra Hang Subba from Sikkim Krantikari Morcha has won the single seat of Sikkim. For the two seats of Manipur Indian National Congress is leading in

both the seats. In Meghalaya Voice of the People Party and Indian National Congress has won one-one seats of the two. Zoram People's Movement, ZPM has won the one seat of Mizoram. India National Congress was won the Nagaland single seat. And in Tripura both seats are won by BJP.

NCP Chief Sharad Pawar has said that the party has recorded an amazing strike rate as it leads in seven out of the ten seats it contested in Maharashtra. Addressing a press conference in Mumbai today, Mr. Pawar said, said the results are inspiring and encouraging with the state assembly polls scheduled later for this year.

The Reserve Bank has informed that the total value of 2000 rupee banknotes in circulation has declined to 7,755 crore rupees at the close of business on 19th May, 2024, exactly a year after the RBI had announced withdrawal of the said currency notes. In a statement issued on Monday, RBI stated that the banknote continues to remain legal tender, RBI has added that the window for deposit and/or exchange of 2000 rupee banknote continues to remain available at the 19 Issue Offices of RBI. Members of the public, who wish to avail the facility can send the notes to these offices via India Post.