#### NORTH EAST NEWS BULLETIN

DATED:-27.03.2024

# **HEADLINES:-**

- > Today is the last day for filing of nominations for the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections.
- Two sitting MPs, Agatha K Sangma of the National People's Party (NPP) and Vincent H Pala of the Congress filed their nomination papers yesterday seeking re-election to the Tura and Shillong Lok Sabha seats respectively.
- > Senior BJP leader and Union Minister Kiren Rijiju filed his nomination from the Arunachal West Parliamentary Constituency yesterday.
- ➤ Senior BJP leader and Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal filed his nomination papers from the Dibrugarh seat in Assam yesterday.
- > The People's Democratic Alliance consensus candidate Chumben Murry yesterday filed his nomination papers to contest for Nagaland's lone Lok Sabha seat.
- ➤ Manipur Education Minister Thounaojam Basantakumar Singh of the BJP will be contesting for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary seat.
- ➤ In Tripura, two to three complaints of violation of Model Code of Conduct have been received.
- ➤ The deadline for online submission of the application form for the Common University Entrance Test has been extended to the 31st of this month.

# **NOMINATION:**

Today is the last day for filing nominations for the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections. The elections will be held in 102 Lok Sabha seats in 17 States and four Union Territories in the first phase. These include five seats in Assam, two seats each in Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya and one seat each in Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura. The scrutiny of nominations will take place on the 28th of this month, and the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures is 30th March. Voting will be held on 19th of April.

# **MEGHALAYA:**

Two sitting MPs, Agatha K Sangma of the National People's Party (NPP) and Vincent H Pala of the Congress filed their nomination papers yesterday seeking reelection to the Tura and Shillong Lok Sabha seats respectively. The MLA from Gambegre constituency in the Garo Hillos, Saleng A Sangma of the Congress also filed his papers to contest for the 2-Tura Lok Sabha seat. Ricky Andrew J Syngkon of the Voice of the People Party (VPP) filed his nomination papers to contest for the 1-Shillong Lok Sabha seat. Manuel Badwar also filed his nomination papers as a Congress candidate to contest for the Shillong Lok Sabha seat.

### **ARUNACHAL:**

Senior BJP leader and Union Minister Kiren Rijiju filed his nomination from the Arunachal West Parliamentary Constituency yesterday. Congress candidate from the constituency, former Chief Minister of the state, Nabam Tuki also filed his nomination paper for this seat yesterday. Arunachal Pradesh has two Lok Sabha

constituencies and the polling for the same will be held in the first phase on the 19th of next month.

#### **ASSAM:**

Senior BJP leader and Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal filed his nomination papers from the Dibrugarh seat in Assam yesterday. Lakhimpur MP, Pradan Baruah also submitted his nomination papers seeking re-election from the seat. Congress MP and son of former chief minister Tarun Gogoi, Gaurav Gogoi filed his nomination from the Jorhat Lok Sabha constituency. Asom Jatiya Parishad chief and former All Assam Students Union leader Lurinjyoti Gogoi filed his nomination from Dibrugarh. Eleven candidates filed their nomination papers yesterday for the first phase of the Lok Sabha polls in Assam.

#### **NAGALAND:**

The People's Democratic Alliance consensus candidate Chumben Murry yesterday filed his nomination papers to contest for Nagaland's lone Parliamentary seat in the Lok Sabha. Indian National Congress candidate, S Supongmeren Jamir also filed his nomination papers. So far, a total of three candidates have filed their nominations in Nagaland for the coming Lok Sabha elections. Independent candidate Hayithung Tungoe Lotha had filed his nomination papers on 23rd March.

#### **MANIPUR:**

Manipur Education Minister Thounaojam Basantakumar Singh of the BJP will be contesting for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary seat in the coming election. Renowned film actor R.K. Somerendro filed his nomination papers yesterday as a candidate of the Manipur People's Party. Two candidates, one for Inner and another for Outer Lok Sabha seats of Manipur have so far submitted their nomination papers to contest for the general elections.

# **TRIPURA:**

In Tripura, two to three complaints of violation of Model Code of Conduct (MCC) have been received and the response to the code violation has been submitted appropriately. Talking to Akashvani News Agartala, Returning Officer and District Magistrate for Tripura (West) parliamentary constituency, Vishal Kumar said that those who were found guilty from the election department have been issued showcause notices. The election department has been holding regular meetings with political parties for smooth conduct of elections. Five observers which include two general, two police and one expenditure observer deputed by the Election Commission of India have reached Agartala.

## **CUET:**

The deadline for online submission of the application form for the Common University Entrance Test has been extended to the 31st of this month. UGC Chairman M. Jagadesh Kumar said, the decision has been taken on the request received from candidates and other stakeholders. The CUET (UG) – 2024 is being offered in 380 cities including 26 cities outside India.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*